ACT Federal electorate redistribution

Both the Woden Valley Community Council and the Weston Creek Community Council have written to the AEC objecting to the Federal boundaries. The Woden Town Centre is the social and economic hub for Woden, Weston Creek and Molonglo and under the proposed distribution, not only will the Woden community be split, the Town Centre will be separated from the majority of the community is services.

Comments can be made to the Electoral Commission ( until 18 May 2018.

While the conclusion that the electoral divisions be focused on the northern, central and southern areas of the ACT may be appropriate, the WVCC objects to the divisions being based on roads rather than communities of interest.

We therefore ask that the electorate boundaries are reconsidered with a view to keeping the Woden community together and for the Woden Town Centre to be located within the communities it services.

[pdf-embedder url=””]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *