Election 2020 / Libs looking for third seat in must-win electorate

There are 25 seats up for grabs in the October 17 ACT election and there is one seat in each of the five electorates of five members that will effectively decide the election – the fifth seat. In a series of articles political reporter BELINDA STRAHORN will analyse the fate of each of the “fifth seats”. This week she looks at Murrumbidgee.

ACT Federal electorate redistribution

Both the Woden Valley Community Council and the Weston Creek Community Council have written to the AEC objecting to the Federal boundaries. The Woden Town Centre is the social and economic hub for Woden, Weston Creek and Molonglo and under the proposed distribution, not only will the Woden community be split, the Town Centre will be separated from the majority of the community is services.