Committee Information

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_custom_heading text=”Objectives” use_theme_fonts=”yes”][vc_column_text]

  • To promote the interests of the Woden Valley community
  • To enhance and improve the economic, cultural, social and environmental well being of Woden Valley residents and community groups
  • To identify community groups and establish and maintain a close liaison between them
  • To contribute to the physical and social planning of and the development of the Woden Valley
  • To ensure that the interests of youth, the aged and other groups in the district are properly represented; and
  • To inform the community about matters affecting the Woden Valley.

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row full_width=”stretch_row”][vc_column width=”1/3″][vc_custom_heading text=”Woden Valley Community Council” use_theme_fonts=”yes” css=”.vc_custom_1447471928218{margin-top: 0px !important;}”][vc_column_text css=”.vc_custom_1617606953354{margin-bottom: 15px !important;}”]

The Woden Valley Community Council engages as widely as possible with the Woden community on a range of issues that affect the Woden community. The Council engages with the ACT Government on behalf of Woden residents on a range of issues including planning, public spaces, community facilities, health, education, housing and the environment.

On-going issues of interest to the Council are:

  • Ensuring that densification is done well which requires land use planning for the Woden Town Centre including,
  • mixed building heights that allow sun into public spaces and the judicious placement of¬†¬†residential towers where they do not significantly overshadow residents.
  • public spaces
  • community facilities including: a community centre, higher education (a CIT), a multi-purpose sports hall and a new aquatic centre.
  • public transport
  • promoting and restoring the environmental values and amenity of natural green areas, such as creeks, ponds, urban open spaces in the Woden Valley
  • hospital developments and retention of the hydrotherapy pool
  • education facilities
  • upgrades of play spaces in all the suburbs and co-location of playgrounds at the local shops

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][vc_custom_heading text=”Your Committee” use_theme_fonts=”yes” css=”.vc_custom_1447471809269{margin-top: 0px !important;}”][vc_column_text css=”.vc_custom_1634132612605{margin-bottom: 15px !important;}”]

  • President: Fiona Carrick
  • Treasurer: Fiona Carrick
  • Secretary: Jude Dodd
  • Public Officer: Robin Stanton
  • Committee members:
    • Rollo Brett
    • Caroline le Couteur
    • Jenny Tyrrell
    • Tom Tyrrell
    • Joshua Cooke
    • Louise Cooke
    • Priyanka Sunder
    • Chris Johnson

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][vc_custom_heading text=”Committee Membership” use_theme_fonts=”yes” css=”.vc_custom_1447471879561{margin-top: 0px !important;}”][vc_column_text css=”.vc_custom_1447472638558{margin-bottom: 15px !important;}”]The Officers of the Council and the committee members are elected in accordance with Section 23 of the Council’s constitution.

Committee members are elected at the annual general meeting and may serve more than one term on the committee.

Nomination for membership of the Committee can be made by completing the Nomination Form and passing it to a committee member or the Secretary.[/vc_column_text][vc_btn title=”Click for a Nomination Form” color=”danger” link=”url:%2Fdocuments%2F2016%2FNomination%20for%20Office%20of%20WVCC.pdf||target:%20_blank|”][vc_column_text]

Contacting WVCC

[/vc_column_text][vc_btn title=”Click to contact WVCC” color=”pink” link=”url:%2Fcontact%2F”][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]

WVCC Constitution

[pdf-embedder url=”” title=”wvcc_constition”][/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]