INFORMATION RELEASE from the ACT Electoral Commissioner

82 objections to the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission’s redistribution proposal are now available

Objections to the Augmented ACT Electoral Commission’s proposed redistribution of the ACT Legislative Assembly’s electoral boundaries are now available for public viewing, the ACT Electoral Commissioner Mr Phillip Green said today.


The Augmented Electoral Commission published a proposed redistribution of the ACT into three electorates on 8 July 2011 and invited objections to the proposal by 5 August 2011.

Eighty-two objections to the proposal are available for public inspection at the ACT Electoral Commission website at and at the office of the Commission.

The 82 objections can be broadly categorised as:

  • . 58 submissions opposing the Augmented Electoral Commission’s proposal to create a 7-member electorate consisting of Belconnen, Gungahlin and the north Canberra suburbs of Lyneham, O’Connor and Turner;
  • . 19 submissions supporting the Augmented Electoral Commission’s proposal; and
  • . 5 submissions proposing alternative boundaries.

“The objections will now be considered by the Augmented Electoral Commission,” Mr Green said.  “The Augmented Electoral Commission may decide to hold a public hearing into the objections.  Following its consideration of the objections, it will make a final determination of the electoral boundaries to apply at the 2012 ACT Legislative Assembly election.”

Phillip Green

Electoral Commissioner

11 August 2011

Further information:

Redistribution Secretariat, Linzi Lamont, (02) 6205 0050

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *